top of page

Seven councillors make up our full council, each being elected or co-opted for a period of four years. Decisions can be made as long as the council is 'quorate' and the agreed minimum number required in our constitution is three.

All Councillors stand down and are invited to stand for re-election in May 2019 and then every 4 years after that, if they undertake a full term and wish to stand again. A vacancy can be filled by existing Councillors selecting candidates. This is known as co-opting.

Meetings are held on the 3rd Wednesday of alternative months, beginning in January each year. 

The Clerk to the Council and responsible finance officer is Joanna Cadman. Joanna is part-time and from 22nd September 2016 can be contacted at the office above the pottery at Watts Gallery, between 1.30 pm and 3.30 pm most Thursdays. It is advisable to call the Gallery first to see whether Joanna is in attendance.

Compton Parish Council owns Watts Chapel and Cemetery and whilst Watts Gallery Trust has taken over the management of these areas, the Parish Council is the authority responsible for burials. All queries relating to burials or the cemetery should be directed to the Clerk Joanna Cadman. Other matters relating to the cemetery can be directed to the Chair of the Cemetery Committee, Maryon Lordan or the curator at Watts Gallery. 

bottom of page